Tag: 上海千花网CW

Congress names Tanveer Akhtar as nominee for LC poll

first_imgPatna, May 29 (PTI) The Congress today named its Bihar unit vice-president Tanveer Akhtar as the party nominee for the biennial legislative council poll.The high command has approved the name of Tanveer Akhtar as the partys candidate, Bihar Congress spokesperson, H K Verma said.Bihar Congress chief and states Education Minister Ashok Choudhary said Akhtar was a committed grassroot worker who was also a JNUSU president and Bihar Pradesh Youth Congress president earlier.Barring RJD, all major parties in Bihar have declared their candidates for the legislative council polls.On May 26, the ruling JD(U) had named its candidates for both the Rajya Sabha and legislative council polls.JD(U) has named Gulam Rasool Baliyavi and C P Sinha as its candidate for council polls while party veteran Sharad Yadav and its national general secretary R C P Singh were selected to contest in the Rajya Sabha poll.In Delhi, the BJP today announced the names of former Bihar BJP president Gopal Narayan Singh and Arjun Sahni as its candidates for the Rajya Sabha and legislative council respectively.”The party will name its second candidate for Council polls by tomorrow morning,” Bihar BJP president Mangal Pandey told PTI.The RJD has not yet announced the names of its candidates for the Rajya Sabha and Legislative Council.As per RJDs strength in the Assembly, it is all set to get two seats in the Upper House of Parliament and the Council.Several prominent names including senior Supreme Court advocate Ram Jethmalani and RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadavs daughter Misa Bharti are doing rounds in political circles for RS berth but there is no official confirmation yet from the party.advertisementFor the legislative council too names of several leaders from state are doing the rounds.As per the gazette notification issued on May 24, May 31 is the last day for filing nominations for these seats, while the scrutiny of the nominations will take place on June 1. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 3.The polling, if necessary, will be held for seven Council seats on June 10 from 9AM to 4PM while voting for RSseats , if necessary, will be held on June 11 and counting of votes will be done at 5 PM the same day. PTI AR MD DIPlast_img read more